Use this page to learn more about the Art Design Chicago initiative and those individuals who help make this yearlong celebration of Chicago’s art and design legacy possible.

About Art Design Chicago     Civic Committee     Advisory Committee

Art Design Chicago is a spirited celebration of the unique and vital role Chicago plays as America’s crossroads of art and design, creativity and commerce. With a scope and ambition befitting Chicago’s grit and can-do determination, Art Design Chicago shares with the world a dynamic convergence of more than 30 exhibitions and hundreds of public programs in 2018. Together, they tell the stories of the artists and designers that defined and continue to propel Chicago’s role as a hub of imagination and impact.

Yesterday and today, across neighborhoods and throughout the nation, the impact of Chicago art and design can be seen and felt everywhere. From art displayed on museum walls to mass-produced consumer goods, Chicago’s singular creative contributions are showcased in this citywide partnership of museums, universities, galleries, and other cultural organizations.

Art Design Chicago is an initiative of the Terra Foundation for American Art, dedicated to helping people in Chicago and around the world experience, understand, and enjoy America’s extraordinary artistic legacy. The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation is the Presenting Partner of Art Design Chicago.

Art Design Chicago offers an opportunity to examine the art and design movements that were born and nurtured in Chicago, and their relationships to other artistic developments throughout the world. To support the success of Art Design Chicago, the Terra Foundation is investing over $6 million in grants and project support for partner organizations. Grant opportunities for Art Design Chicago are now closed.

The development of Art Design Chicago is guided by active Civic and Advisory Committees made up of leaders in Chicago's art and design communities.

Civic Committee

  • Richard H. Driehaus (Co-Chair)
  • Amy Rule (Co-Chair)
  • Nora Daley
  • Thomas Dyja
  • Elizabeth Glassman
  • Leslie Hindman
  • Linda Johnson Rice
  • Clare Muñana

Advisory Committee

  • Greg Cameron, Joffrey Ballet
  • John Corbett, Corbett vs. Dempsey
  • Wanda Corn, Stanford University Emeritus (Academic Advisor)
  • Kim Coventry, The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
  • Robert Cozzolino, Minneapolis Institute of Art
  • Alison Cuddy, Chicago Humanities Festival
  • Michael Darling, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago
  • Amina Dickerson, Dickerson Global Advisors
  • Wendy Greenhouse, Independent Art Historian
  • Neil Harris, University of Chicago
  • Cheryl Hughes, Chicago Community Trust
  • Judith Russi Kirshner, Art Critic and Educator
  • Marcia Lausen, UIC School of Design
  • Lisa Yun Lee, University of Illinois at Chicago and National Public Housing Museum
  • Jamey Lundblad, Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events
  • Victor Margolin, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Cesáreo Moreno, National Museum of Mexican Art
  • Hugh Musick, University of Illinois at Chicago, Program for Healthcare Delivery Design
  • Tim Samuelson, Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events
  • Daniel Schulman, Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events
  • Tom Shapiro, Cultural Strategy Partners
  • Janet Carl Smith, Arts Consultant
  • Jacqueline Terrassa, Art Institute of Chicago
  • Lynne Warren, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago